Filtration

How does the WAIR filtration work?

The WAIR filtration is based on two key points: the filter, and the morphological structure. The combination of these two elements is the heart of our innovation and the guarantee of our anti-pollution masks efficiency.

Filters with proven efficiency, with a comfy breathing sensation

Our filter is made of several layers: a bactericide layer, and an electrostatic one. The active carbon catches gazes and smells. The bactericide layer stops the bacteria in the air. And the electrostatic filter catches the largest particles (dust ...), and the tiniest ones which can measure until 0.1μm (=PM0,1μm), as well as pollen. WAIR effectively filters 99% of pollution, including 92% of fine particules, allergens including pollen, bacteria and smells! 

Different levels : P1, P2, P3 

We talk about FFP for disposable masks and FMP for reusable masks. Levels P1, P2 and P3 do these two categories correspond to the same requirements. Levels vary depending on the Total Inward Leakage Rate and on the Penetration rate of the media-filter. Il means the fine particles % not being retained by the device. 

To develop these filters, WAIR worked with air quality experts. We chose a P1 filtration level, ensuring a good breathing comfort. Only disposable masks for professionals offer a P3 filtration level because breathing becomes difficult. Therefore the filtration level depends on the practice. For example, a construction worker using a P3 does not have the same requirements as a cyclist. The level of filtration is such that it would be very uncomfortable everyday to reuse it, especially during an effort (see bikes). Having a P3 mask means that the breathing effort is going to be very important. Thus, in the event of a leakage around the face, the unsealed mask represents a danger. Indeed the user will breathe harder, which will promotes the entry of fine particules.

On the other hand, we insure you a better comfort of breathing in urban area. A level of filtration P3 would significantly reduce your confort of breathing. We designed our mask for the two wheelers, so we didn't find it relevant. Indeed WAIR is : Efficient, Comfy and Design. 

Warning : the mention "FFP3 +" is a pure marketing invention ! 

Filter replacement


To keep this high filtration efficiency, you have to change your filter every month, whether you use it or not. The fabrics used are "active", so as long as they are in contact with the air, they start working and catching pollutants !

Why a month ?

1st reason : The efficiency curve of your filter decreases sharply after a month, because the layers constituting the filter deteriorate progressively in contact with polluants, and are not as effective.

2nd reason : In a highly polluted environment, the filter will saturate with pollutants and release them. it contains too many pollutants to stop them all. 

WAIR guarantees an efficient filtration only if you change your filters every month, starting at their opening date.

schema filtration

A patented morphological structure, made to maximize filtration, and which fits all faces

Sealing is the key for real efficiency. Even with the best filter in the world, if your structure isn't sealed, your filter is useless. The polluted air will pass through the leaks on your face, and not through the filter. This is why WAIR developed this special structure, so you have a perfect sealing on your face. So no leaks, and all the air goes through the filter. WAIR has a quarter-mask format that is much more compact than half-masks. Those take more space on the space. And yet, with a quarter mask, we guarantee an efficiency equal or superior to the half-masks !

Remember that WAIR brings you a very high filtration, combined with an excellent sealing, so it really works. 

schema structure filtration

Discover our filters

Filtration

Comment fonctionne la filtration de l'air?

La filtration des WAIR est basée sur deux éléments clés : Le filtre, et la structure morphologique. C'est la combinaison de ces deux éléments qui est le cœur de notre innovation et la garantie de l'efficacité de nos masques anti-pollution foulards.

Des filtres à l'efficacité prouvée, tout en conservant un bon confort de respiration

Notre filtre est composé de plusieurs couches : une couche bactéricide, et une couche électrostatique. Le charbon actif absorbe les gaz et les odeurs. Le filtre bactéricide arrête les bactéries contenues dans l'air. Enfin, le filtre électrostatique capte les grosses particules (poussières...), les particules les plus fines pouvant mesurer jusqu'à 0.1μm (=PM0,1μm) ainsi que les pollens. WAIR filtre efficacement 99% de la pollution, dont 92% des particules fines, allergènes dont les pollens, bactéries et odeurs !

Des niveaux différents : P1, P2, P3 

On parle de FFP pour les masques anti-pollution jetables et de FMP pour les masques anti-pollution réutilisables. Les niveaux P1,P2 et P3 pour ces deux catégories correspondent aux mêmes exigences. Les niveaux varient en fonction du taux de Fuite Totale vers l'Intérieur (FTI) et du taux de Pénétration du média-filtrant. Cela signifie le % de particules n'étant pas retenu par le dispositif. 

filtration-masque-anti-pollution

Efficacité de filtration WAIR

Pour développer ces filtres, WAIR a travaillé avec des experts en qualité de l'air. Nous avons choisi un niveau de filtration P1 garantissant un meilleur confort de respiration. Seuls les masques à destination des professionnels proposent du P3 car la respiration est difficile. Le niveau de filtration dépend donc de la pratique. Par exemple, un ouvrier de bâtiment utilisant un P3 n'a pas les mêmes exigences qu'un cycliste. Le niveau de filtration est tel qu'il serait très inconfortable au quotidien de le réutiliser, d'autant plus durant un effort (cf. vélos). Avoir un masque P3 signifie que l'effort de respiration va être très important. Ainsi, en cas de fuite au visage, le masque anti-pollution non étanche représente un danger. En effet, l'utilisateur va respirer plus fort, ce qui favorisera l'entrée des particules fines. 

Nous vous assurons en revanche un meilleur confort de respiration en zone urbaine. En effet, un niveau de filtration P3 reviendrait à baisser fortement votre confort à l'inspiration. Comme nous nous adressons majoritairement à un public en deux roues, nous n'avons pas trouvé cela pertinent. En effet, WAIR c'est : Efficacité, Confort, et Design. 

Attention : la mention « FFP3+ » est une pure invention marketing !

Changement des filtres


Pour maintenir cette efficacité de filtration optimum, il est impératif de changer votre filtre tous les mois, que vous l'utilisiez ou non, car les matériaux utilisés sont actifs, dés sortie de leur étui étanche, ils commencent à faire leur travail et captent la pollution autour d'eux ! 

Pourquoi un mois ? 

1ère raison : La courbe d'efficacité de votre filtre diminue fortement au-delà d'un mois, car les couches constituant le filtre se détériorent progressivement au contact des polluants, et ne sont plus aussi performantes.

2ème raison : Dans un milieu très pollué, le filtre va saturer en polluants et les relâcher. Il contient trop de polluants pour pouvoir tous les arrêter. 

WAIR garantit donc une filtration efficace uniquement pendant une période d'environ un mois par filtre, à compter de leur date d'ouverture.

schema filtration

Une structure morphologique brevetée, conçue pour maximiser la filtration, adaptable à tous les visages

L'étanchéité est la clé d'une filtration réelle. Même avec le meilleur filtre au monde, si votre structure n'est pas étanche, votre filtre ne sert à rien. L'air pollué va passer par les fuites au visage autour du filtre, et non pas à travers le filtre. C'est pour cela que WAIR a développé son contour morphologique, qui assure une étanchéité parfaite sur le visage. Ainsi, pas de fuites, et tout l'air respiré passe par le filtre ! Le WAIR a un format quart de masque qui est bien plus compact que les demi-masques. Ces derniers prennent davantage de place sur le visage. Et pourtant, avec un quart de masque, nous garantissons une efficacité égale ou supérieure aux demi-masques ! 

Retenez donc que WAIR vous apporte une très haute filtration combiné à une excellente étanchéité garantissant une efficacité réelle.

schema structure filtration

Découvrez nos filtres